IIBA-CBAP Recertification: Everything You Need To Know

cbap recertification

The CBAP certification is a great way to demonstrate that you have the skills necessary to be an effective business analyst. In other words, it’s a stamp of approval that says: “Oh yeah, I’m good at this stuff.” If you’ve already earned your certificate, congratulations! However, if you have been working as a business analyst for the past 3 to 5 years, and want to make sure you’re on top of your game, it’s time to recertify!

But what do you need to know and do? Here’s everything you need to know about CBAP certification and how to get started on your path towards CBAP re-certification:

CBAP Certification

The basic idea behind CBAP certification is that it allows you to become a more credible business analyst by providing proof that you have achieved a certain level of competence. This can be a huge benefit when seeking employment as many employers want to see that you have demonstrated your skills through rigorous training and testing, especially when conducting business analysis tasks. In addition to this requirement for job applicants, companies also require their analysts to be certified in order to ensure that they are working with people who know what they’re doing!

What is CBAP Recertification?

CBAP recertification is a process you go through to renew your certification. This means you are renewing your certification and acknowledging your commitment to maintaining standards and continuing professional development.

The goal of this process is to ensure that you and your organization stay up-to-date with technology changes and new skills needed in today’s business environment.

Recertification is required every three years, and it’s important that you do not miss this deadline. You must earn 60 CDUs (Continuing Development Units) during your recertification period.

To earn 60 CDUs toward your next certification, you’ll need:

  • To have had at least one year since earning your first certification as a CBAP® or related program (i.e., CISSP®). If this hasn’t been achieved yet, then it’s time for some serious work!
  • To have passed all sections of each exam within six months after completing each section–if possible; however, if there are extenuating circumstances beyond your control then we understand why getting this done any sooner would be difficult but please contact us so we can help out with some ideas on the best approach to getting these done sooner rather than later!

Why Does CBAP Require Recertification?

The CBAP certification program has been approved by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a third-party organization that standardizes practices across all industries. ANSI develops technical standards through collaboration between its members representing interests ranging from manufacturing to medicine; from science education to healthcare delivery; from information technology professionals working on solutions within their respective fields . . .

In order for the CBAP program to remain accredited, re-certifications must align with ANSI’s requirements. By implementing this process, they ensure that your credential isn’t just valid – it’s relevant. See more about ANSI here (https://www.ansi.org/about/mission)

This is why IIBA has developed a rigorous process for CBAP recertification; It ensures that your exam reflects current industry standards and best practices so you can be confident in your knowledge of what makes an effective business analyst.

When Do I Have To Renew My Certification?

Your certification and recognized designation will expire three years after it was earned. As part of the recertification process, you’re required to follow the competency-based approach (CBA) set out by IIBA® and achieve 60 Continuing Development Units (CDUs) within three years of earning your certification and must do so by either:

  • Professional development activities, such as courses or workshops, or webinars (like we have monthly at BNET Learning)
  • Professional work experience; or
  • Peer-to-peer learning opportunities that are approved by CBAP.

According to the IIBA Website, these CDUs can be earned in multiple categories as shown below:

Category CDU Activity Categories Maximum CDU Values per 3-Year Cycle
1. Professional Development


2. Work History (Professional Experience)


3. Professional Activities


4. Volunteer Service


5. Self-Directed Learning


6. Formal Academic Education



If you want to get into exact details, or for important information and guidelines regarding recertification, application, fees, and more, please refer to the IIBA Recertification Handbook.

The CBAP Recertification Process Will Help You Stay Educated And Current In Your Work

The CBAP is one of the most respected certifications in business analysis, and the only one that requires you to complete a portfolio that qualifies you to be eligible to write the exam. This portfolio helps you demonstrate your knowledge of the business analysis field by showing what you know about each of the different areas within it. It also shows your ability to apply this knowledge in a practical way on projects or tasks.

Professionals who have attained the designations must demonstrate an ongoing professional commitment to the business analysis profession and maintain their certification by satisfying the recertification requirements

Recertification process:

1. Earn a minimum of 60 Continuing Development Units
2. Enter your hours into the BA Development Log
3. Pay the recertification fee
4. Submit a recertification application
5. Receive a confirmation email from IIBA.

Congratulations! You are Recertified!


The CBAP recertification process will help you stay educated and current in your work. By taking the time to recertify every three years, you’ll be able to keep your knowledge up-to-date on all the latest developments in the industry.

Now that we’ve covered most of the details, it’s time to take action! All-righty then. If you’re ready and raring to go, contact BNET Learning, and we would show you the first steps you need to take to get recertified as a business analysis professional. If not, take a look at our other options by visiting our certification course page at www.bnetlearning.com or going through one of our training courses. Either way, just remember: there’s no better time than now!


John Oghota

August 31st, 2022


More Posts

The Power of Stakeholder Communication

Stakeholder communication serves as the vital lifeblood of any thriving organization, facilitating the exchange of information, ideas, and feedback between the entity and its diverse

Send Us A Message

Post Comments

Leave a Reply



(NG) +234-807-442-9193

(CA) +1-403-437-9115

© Copyrights by BNET Learning. All Rights Reserved.